UKC

Need to improve at locking off

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Adrien 07 Apr 2016
So, after bouldering with someone else for the first time in maybe six months, it has come to my attention that I'm not very good at all at locking off and that it's holding me back. When my foot is high up and I need to lock off one arm to reach the next hold, I have a tendency to release the tension in that arm right after I've tried to reach for the next hold with my other arm, which makes me fall. An example would be Surplomb de la Coquille in Franchard; for those who've done it, I'm struggling to reach the high sidepull just before the topout.

I am not sure what the reason is; part of me thinks it may be a lack of confidence in my foot/feet, which would mean I'm afraid it won't hold and I'll slip, part of me thinks it may be that some of my muscles are too weak (but which? And how should I train?).

Any thoughts much appreciated!
 flash13 07 Apr 2016
In reply to Adrien:

Hi

There are a number of ways to improve lock off strength but the first thing I would say is to never over do it because it could lead to an elbow injury.

Doing lock off laps on easy routes is a great way to start. Between each handhold lock your arm in and count to 3. Your hand should be hovering just above the hold. As you get better lock off on harder moves.

The second way is to do negative one arm pull ups. Resist going down as much as possible. If you struggle to do this as the start hang a theraband over the bar and pull down on it to assist you.

Hope this helps
 1poundSOCKS 07 Apr 2016
In reply to Adrien: