UKC

Grip training, finger-skin pinch/stress

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
rock_fodder 28 Apr 2016
Hi there,

I have been climbing for about 5-6 months, getting on well and enjoying it loads. However I have found (as many here have that I am reading about!) that I need to improve finger/forearm strength to be able to hold on for longer.

I have seen videos and web sites showing me how to train, so I am happy with the training aspect. But the problem I am having is with the static hang-time.

When I am hanging (say from the bottom of a step, or from a finger board) I am finding that the skin in below the crease of my finger joints is getting pinched and gets sore. While this does not affect me while I am climbing, it is quite sore when I am training.

I am trying to get to 4 minute hang-time (that's my goal but I am no-where near that!). My method is to hang until my grip fails and then repeat 2 more times in that session with 5 min gap between. But all I can feel is those bits of skin getting pinched and more and more sore : ( ... they are getting quite calloused now, but I am not sure if I should push through this phase or if I am doing something wrong here...

Any one else have this issue? any/all advise welcome : ))
 humptydumpty 28 Apr 2016
In reply to rock_fodder:

I wouldn't personally be hangboarding after 5-6 months of climbing for fear of getting injured, but I did recently start climbing indoors and know what you mean about skin pinching. I tape the pinched bits before they rip, and so far it's going OK. I'm pretty sure callouses are the long-term solution, but even these will come off occasionally.
 Dandan 29 Apr 2016
In reply to rock_fodder:

Firstly, don't fingerboard for at least another 18 months.

Secondly, when you have ignored my first point, which I know you will (I would have too), why are you hanging on a hold for 4 minutes? Do you often climb routes that require you to hold a single hold for 4 minutes?