UKC

Hardest warm up?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Morgan Woods 09 May 2016
I managed a 7a+ warmup the other day which I have never done before. I know the route quite well but still refined some moves on it to make it more efficient. Was quite pleasing as it's basically my current flash/onsight grade once I have a few easier routes under the belt.

So over to the great and the good of UKC, post your best warmup vs normal onsight grade.

This also got me thinking, what is the hardest warm up ever done? Do the pro's even bother or just get on the route?
In reply to Morgan Woods:

It seems like 8c warm ups are fairly standard for the Ondras and Megos's of the world, not sure about 8c+ it's kind of hard to find info as it's often a throw away comment when they're reporting a 9a flash...
 Sl@te Head 09 May 2016
In reply to Alasdair Fulton:

Watched Stevie Haston warming up on an 8a a few years ago, really impressive!
 Fredt 09 May 2016

I think if I warmed up an a couple of diffs, then I think I'd be ready to have a shot at a Severe.
 Robin Woodward 09 May 2016

This seems like a bit of a non-nonsensical question. If you're actually talking about warming up in terms of preparing your body for climbing and preventing injury, this is not going to help. Surely you wouldn't choose something that you don't know you're going to succeed on to actually try and warm up your body?

If you're simply talking about doing a hard route straight off, then that's fairly irrelevant, you've just chosen to repeat a route you know well.

The fact that you've managed to do this route first try may well be an achievement for you (it'd be a miracle for me), and if so, congratulations, but I think this is a strange way to go about saying this.
 The Ivanator 09 May 2016

My favourite warm up is the Easy Way Down at Wintour's Leap, I know the route quite well and have refined some moves on it to make it more efficient. I always find it quite pleasing.