UKC

Trad epiphany part II

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Paul16 16 May 2016
So a few weeks ago I posted about my trad epiphany (I'm pretty new to trad) - it was about how a committing route gets right into your head and a leaves you buzzing when you top out. Amazing.

Part 2 is about that moment when you're the width of a cigarette paper from toppling backwards off a sloping grit stone top out, right on the edge of balance and friction. It happened yesterday and I would have decked if I'd gone. The feeling this time was so different - relief? YES. Hysteria? No. Satisfaction? Hmm, maybe a little. Elation? No, surprisingly. After thinking about it for a day or so I now think it was more a sense of having gone through an experience that has changed my view of what trad climbing is. Yes, it's about movement, freedom and the act of climbing on rock but more than that it's about understanding and accepting risk - that's the commitment bit everyone talks about. It's about acknowledging risk before laying hands on rock, embracing it as part of the climb and pushing on with faith in your abilities. And of course part of the deal is knowing you'll have to cope with the darker side if your ability on the day isn't enough.

I understand now why so many climbers don't venture beyond their comfort zone with trad. I suspect it takes an experience like this to make you realise what you're really doing. We climbers must all go through it at some point and either back away and say it's not worth it, keeping to the safer zones, or accept it and carry on. Each to their own and we should always respect a climbers route choice because that individual is the one taking the risk.

It won't stop me pushing into the extremes but now I know what's being asking of me. I know what I'm committing to when I tie in and step on.