UKC

Klemheist, prusik or autoblock ....

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MttSnr 06 Jun 2016

... for backing up an abseil. Any thoughts?

I'm heading off for some long sport routes in France and so I'm pondering my abseil technique. I'm currently erring towards the autoblock but would welcome any suggestions / thoughts.
Post edited at 22:46
 jezb1 06 Jun 2016
In reply to MttSnr:

French Prusik / Autoblock, same thing.

They release under load, the others don't.
cb294 07 Jun 2016
In reply to jezb1:

Prusik, simpler and faster. I use the other knots for crevasse rescue, where you know the system will be under load, which most of the times does not happen while abseiling.

CB
 ChrisBrooke 07 Jun 2016
In reply to MttSnr:

I've been using a French for about 15 years for my abseil back up. Last night, while on a free hanging ab off the top of Stoney Middleton, for first time ever it jammed at a most unpropitious time, leaving me dangling in space, unable to move. I felt like a total wally. I had to set up a quick ascending foot and harness prusik system to take the load off, remove it, and continue with the ab. Glad that has never happened in the Alps or somewhere more time-pressured!

With that being said, I'd totally recommend the French, but take time to experiment with the length of it, how many wraps you need with your rope(s) to get the right amount of friction for it to bite but not lock!
 StuDoig 07 Jun 2016
In reply to MttSnr:

Autoblock / French Prusik. Less faff than the standard prusik to tie / dress correctly. Much easier to release if you need to stop and sort ropes etc, though conversely doesn't bite as well and slips at a lower load (still much higher than anything you should see on abseil!).

Cheers!

Stu
 Greasy Prusiks 07 Jun 2016
In reply to MttSnr:

Prusik though probably not a greasey one.
 galpinos 07 Jun 2016
In reply to MttSnr: