UKC

Start of a new chapter... getting outdoors

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 flopsicle 09 Jun 2016
We're getting outdoors - a big cheers to the awesomeness of climbers and the best of that community. If it's not 'Rock Talk' enough please feel free to move it.

I can't believe I'm starting a thread in this hallowed turf for 'real climbers'! I've been climbing indoors for almost 4 yrs now, along with my now 8 yr old daughter. We've had the odd trip outdoors but as my little 'un and I are often a job lot and I'm a 24 karat wuss, it's never been something ongoing.

It's surprisingly difficult to get out and build skills as a lone parent with a climbing kid! My daughter needed people that see little people as people not an alien species, I needed (err need) a bucket load of patience to get over being scared to death. I figured our time would come as long as I stayed fit enough and kept working to improve where I could, but I had to admit we were way off being an attractive prospect potential climbing partner material!

Years came and went, I never refused a trip but none were sustainable enough to build on the one before. Then a fortnight ago I got an invite to join one the instructors at our local wall with an informal climbing group. My daughter would also be welcome, the instructor is really into coaching adults and kids and passionate about outdoor climbing, the group is so mixed, from 16 (well 8 now!) to 50+, tall short, male female, novice and awesome. I can give a little back in offering a lift but am just so grateful and happy to be around a really cool folk.

Outside of it being a new chapter for us I am so pleased that it is possible for instructors/coaches to have an intrinsic desire to offer a leg up to an unlikely pair - just because, just because they climb, just because that's climbing. I'm also so pleased it's possible for such a mixed group to exist and (it appears) thrive.