UKC

Wet weather alternatives near Chamonix?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tricadam 14 Jun 2016

My girlfriend and I are off to Chamonix next week for a bit of climbing, amongst other things. We're eyeing up some super-easy multipitch routes (I lead severe reasonably reliably...!) but it would be great to have your thoughts on wet weather alternatives, i.e. weather good enough to be up in the mountains but a bit wet to be climbing rock. Ideally big mountain days but with minimal or no glacier crossing as I've no experience in that regard and she only has a bit.

By way of background, I'm comfortable with nav in the Scottish mountains in virtually all conditions, have lots of winter hillwalking experience and will happily lead Scottish V whether ice or mixed. Girlfriend leads E2 on a good day so could drag us up VS in the wet if necessary, but preferably not! She climbs Scottish V ice but isn't such a fan of the mixed stuff and has a bit less general winter mountaineering experience.

Any ideas much appreciated!
Post edited at 10:36
 jon 14 Jun 2016
In reply to Patrick G:

The Perrons traverse is a really great day out but not really a wet weather alternative.

It's worth considering going through the tunnel and down the Aosta valley if it's bad on the French side. A look at the webcams is a wise precaution though! http://www.lovevda.it/en/before-your-trip/webcams
 Webster 14 Jun 2016
In reply to Tricadam: