UKC

Grading Question for the uberknowledgable UKC forums

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Knut R. 14 Jun 2016
I don't understand E-grades fully. Don't feel like using the 8a.nu conversion chart because...Jens.

I spent the weekend getting completely beat down on a very well protected 7c+ crack. It eats gear. You're only limited by how many SLCDs you want to carry. Zero danger. A true cowards' trad line.

What would this weigh in at in E-Grades?

Many thanks for opinions and derision.
Removed User 14 Jun 2016
In reply to shouldbebetter:
E negative 5?
Post edited at 21:06
 Luke90 14 Jun 2016

I have no experience of routes anywhere near that grade but I'll start the bidding at E6 6c and then other people can jump in to tell me how ridiculously wrong I am and get you an actual answer.

No personal experience of trad at that kind of grade, but Cave Route LH at Gordale is a F7c+ that back when it was protected by pre-placed threads etc used to get E6 6c I think.
 planetmarshall 14 Jun 2016
> I don't understand E-grades fully. Don't feel like using the 8a.nu conversion chart because...Jens.

So, my understanding...

The Adjectival and the Technical grade aren't completely independent. A 'typical' E1 is 5b, and a 'typical' E2 is 5c. A bit of leeway is allowed in either direction for safe/cruxy or bold routes. The problem is that at the technical grades you're talking about, the UK equivalent starts to break down ( this is visible in the Rockfax grade conversion table as the technical scope of the grades gets wider as the adjectival grade increases ), which is why the hardest trad climbs are often specified with a French technical grade rather than a UK one.

So it doesn't matter how well protected it is, a route with F7c+ climbing should be at least E6, possibly E7.
Post edited at 21:23
 Greasy Prusiks 14 Jun 2016

Probably E6 or E7. Impossible to say without climbing it really.
 Bulls Crack 14 Jun 2016
In reply to planetmarshall: