UKC

Help with acclimatizing Mont Blanc

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
D777M 08 Jul 2016

Hello!

I'm new to UKC and looking for some help coming up with a plan for acclimatizing for Mont Blanc for the beginning of August.

I'm new to climbing and will be climbing with a guide. I plan to meet up with him the day before our journey up and have been given the assignment to acclimatize before meeting with him. So I will be acclimatizing solo. I have reached out to the guide for suggestions but he is busy in his climbing season and communicating through email has been tough. Also I have been scourering the threads and searching the Internet for help. But I haven't Found a good resource to help yet. Seems planning the guys and logistics is pretty complicated for my simple little mind. So I thought I would toss the question around here!

I live at sea level, will be at 1500 meters for a few days prior to traveling out, then will have 4 days prior to our hike up to the Tete Rousse hut.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated. Does that sound like enough to time to acclimate?

-Jettison
 David Rose 08 Jul 2016
In reply to Jettison:

You could take the cable car to the Midi and spend a couple of nights at the Cosmiques Hut (3,600 m) though be aware that the route to the hut involves a very exposed icy arete requiring crampons and then a crevassed, snow-covered glacier - much better to do this with someone, roped.
 Doug 08 Jul 2016
In reply to Jettison:

> Any suggestions would be very much appreciated. Does that sound like enough to time to acclimate?

Wouldn't be for me but its very variable. Before I'd even think of trying Mt Blanc I'd want to have climbed a couple of summits above 3 000m and ideally something around 4 000 first. Will you be on your own for your 4 days ?

alasdair19 08 Jul 2016
In reply to Jettison: