UKC

The Injury Space

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MischaHY 10 Jul 2016
How do you deal with injury? I just wrote a blog about my own method... Not entirely based on science! Give it a read and let me know what you think.

Anyone else been dealing with an injury/currently dealing with one? How does it affect your goals and motivations?

http://atouchofgnar.blogspot.co.uk/2016/07/the-injury-space.html
 neuromancer 10 Jul 2016
In reply to MischaHY:

To me, the most important factor in managing the psychosocial effects of injury is to have a plan. Nothing is more harmful to mental and physical progress than not knowing a) where you are and b) where you are going.

I've dealt with a pretty big bunch of very varied injuries in the last five years. It's been especially difficult because I work as an infantry officer, and, well, if we can't be physically active in every sense, we're pretty useless. I broke my fibula, tore my radius apart, tore all the ligaments in my wrist and thought I would lose the use of it, slipped a disc and developed spinal arthritis.

Throughout this period I can only repeat how I opened. The darkest periods have been when I have not had a clear plan moving forwards - even if that included elements of permenant capacity loss, or long blocks of convalescence.

Above all, I agree with you - be adaptable. I broke my arm, and I started road cycling and weightlifting. I hurt my back and have taught myself to swim.
OP MischaHY 10 Jul 2016
In reply to neuromancer:

Nice! Great to see that I'm not the only one with that method of managing things. Obviously my injuries were a little less serious than yours... Excellent effort recovering!
 bouldery bits 10 Jul 2016
In reply to MischaHY:

Good effort.

I cope with injury by eating biscuits.
OP MischaHY 10 Jul 2016
In reply to bouldery bits:

Sounds like a strong tactic! :')
 Greasy Prusiks 10 Jul 2016
In reply to bouldery bits:

Very NICE.
OP MischaHY 10 Jul 2016