UKC

Nikon D3100 & time lapse

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mwr72 11 Jul 2016
I have a project coming up that I would like to time lapse but I'm not too sure how to go about it(I'm a very amateur photographer!)

I know my camera doesn't have a time lapse function, so I would need an external shutter release timer.

The project could be up to two weeks in total(10 working days) and is indoors.

Any advice would be very much appreciated.
 d_b 11 Jul 2016
In reply to mwr72:

Nikons remotes are hugely overpriced. You should be able to get a plasticky 3rd party knockoff that works just as well for about a fiver.

That's what I use with my d7000 - it has a built in time lapse mode, but it is awful.
OP mwr72 11 Jul 2016
In reply to Oceanrower:
I've googled but there is a heck of a lot of advice out there, I'm needing basically a "Dummies guide" rather than lots of tech info.

Edit: That's the link I had looked at, I think power source and memory would be the largest hurdles, I could buy an external adapter, could the photo's be saved straight to the computer so negating memory card limitations?
Post edited at 14:41
OP mwr72 11 Jul 2016
In reply to davidbeynon:

Thanks David.

What sort of timings would I be looking at for a long project, maybe 5 minutes-10 minutes? I have absolutely zero experience with time lapse
 d_b 11 Jul 2016
In reply to mwr72:

How long? I have usually found somewhere between 10 seconds and 1 minute works well. Things like clouds go almost too quickly at the longer end.

I find the biggest problem is power. My d7k keels over after a few hundred shots even with a battery grip in daytime. Things are far worse at night when you have long exposures to contend with.

The kit I used for filming in norway last year was:

D7000 with battery grip + rain cover.

Cheapo timer with rubber band to connect to tripod.