UKC

GPS for Expedition Use

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
So I'm looking into getting a GPS for everything from a hillwalking backup, to expedition use. I'm a total GPS noob and I'm searching in the dark really, so all advice appreciated!!

What I want:
Colour screen
Battery capabilities that will work in extremes
Really easy to use - all I imagine wanting it for is tracking my location, setting targets and knowing how far I've travelled from camp to camp throughout the day, good use in very remote areas/greater ranges. Accuracy should come as standard.

I was looking at the Garmin GPSMAP 64s. I've seen lots of guides using it and it seems pretty popular. Thoughts for or against?

Also I was looking on the Garmin website and it doesn't seem to list Russia, Nepal etc in their map store. Where do people usually get their maps from, and do you have any issues using third party maps?
 OwenM 21 Jul 2016
In reply to purplemonkeyelephant:

The GPSMAP 64s is quite old now I'd look at something a bit more up to date, Oregon or Montana 610.

I've been looking for a map card for Sarek national park in Sweden, Garmin only sell two cards Sweden North or Sweden South £180 each. I also have a Satmap but they wanted £140 for a card of just some of the northern mountains. Then I found that viewranger (which runs on a smartphone) do a free map of Sarek NP and £9 bought the tiles for the rest of my route. Garmin GPS's are water and shock proof which phones aren't but if you're having trouble finding mapping their worth a look.
 JEF 21 Jul 2016
In reply to OwenM:

> The GPSMAP 64s is quite old now I'd look at something a bit more up to date, Oregon or Montana 610.