UKC

Cassette replacement

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 La benya 01 Aug 2016
Hi,

After this weekends attempts at (almost) completely stripping my bike down to thoroughly clean it, replace cables and generally tune it i'm now full of confidence. so my next project will be replacing the cassette. However, being a complete beginner at this, and not massively into cycling and gear geekiness i need some advice.
Is there any real difference between a cassette that cost £10, or one that cost £150? other than weight perhaps.
is there anything additional i need to do to the bearing or ratchet while the cassette is off?

also, there's quite a lot of wiggle in my rear derailleur, especially the jockey wheels, is it worth replacing these or replacing the whole lot with a cheap one, again whats the difference between a £20 and £100 one?

cheers!
 Xharlie 01 Aug 2016
In reply to La benya:

Good questions. I am also interested in the answer to the bit about the cassette.

Last time I took a cassette off, it was a case of individual bearings going everywhere (I had expected a joined race, not individual balls) and I swore never to do it again. I'm keen to get over this fear.

Certainly, my poor bike wants me to get over this fear. The chain and cassette are in dire straights!
 John Rowlands 01 Aug 2016
Regardless of which cassette you buy, the chain should be cleaned and re lubricated regularly and checked for "stretching". Can't really help with cassette bearings, never had to change them. Jockey wheels are relatively inexpensive are definitely worthwhile replacing depending on what derailleur you have and where it "wobbles".
 gethin_allen 01 Aug 2016
In reply to La benya:

As with most things there is a significant difference between the cheaper items but the law of diminishing returns applies at the upper end.
The more expensive cassettes should be lighter, more resistant to corrosion and smoother shifting.