UKC

Help me choose a rope bag please!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Paulos 02 Aug 2016

Sorry I've never used a rope bag before, I'm now buying one but can't decide between these two:
Beal Folio and the Black Diamond Superslacker

Has anyone used either of these? I just want something so that I don't have to keep flaking rope and that is comfortable which carrying rope to the crag (generally 15 mins max). Cheers!
Post edited at 11:21
In reply to Paulos:

The problem with rope bags that only sling over the shoulder is that they can be a right royal pain in the arse if you have to clamber over uneven ground in ascent and downright dangerous in descent. I've used several types but these days I prefer one that will fit in my rucksack or at least leave my hands free.

Al
In reply to Paulos:

Have you thought about a 'bucket' style bag like this

https://www.bergfreunde.co.uk/edelrid-caddy-rope-bag

They are brilliant compared to the simple ones because you just lift the ends of the tarp shake it and all the rope ends up in the bucket. The rope is really well contained in the bucket bit with the drawstring and you never get it slipping out the side.

JamieSparkes Global Crag Moderator 02 Aug 2016
In reply to Paulos:

Just get an ikea bag.
 Fraser 02 Aug 2016
MrWayne 03 Aug 2016
In reply to Paulos:

Blue ice rope bag on bergfreunde
 Chris Craggs Global Crag Moderator 03 Aug 2016
In reply to Paulos:

I bought one of these when they were on offer at £18 - http://www.rockrun.com/rock-climbing/software/rope-bags/black-diamond-super...

Well made and very easy to pack,

Chris
In reply to Chris Craggs:

I got a Superchute on the same offer - impressed with how easy it is to pack away the rope - the funnel shape of the tarp is really good for just pouring the rope into the main bag. It also compresses down nicely so I can get the whole ropebag into the bottom of my rucksack - handy for longer walk-ins.
 Xharlie 03 Aug 2016
In reply to Paulos: