UKC

Rock Shoes For Big Feet?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mike25350 11 Aug 2016
Hello all,

I've been climbing for about 3 years now and I'm hoping someone can recommend some 'intermediate' level shoes that will fit my big feet. I normally take a trainer size 12.5 - 13 and although I understand the need for a snug fit, especially on a more technical shoe, I don't want anything too radically tight. I prefer to concentrate on the route rather than crippling toe pain, especially after having lived with ingrowing toe nails for several years a little while back.

They would be used for sport and indoor routes, as my existing shoes would probably be more comfortable for Trad. For comparison, these have been my previous shoes:

La Sportiva - Tarantula (size 47)
Scarpa - Thunder (size 12)
Evolv - Defy VTR (size 13) (ironically the smallest fitting of the three)

Any info would be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Mike
 zimpara 11 Aug 2016
In reply to mike25350:

If you don't want shoes too tight-don't buy tight shoes
 Oli Greg 11 Aug 2016
In reply to mike25350:
I'm a 12.5 in 'street' shoes, after trying numerous brands I've settled on five ten anasazi. My feet are quite narrow with long toes and these seem to fit the best. I have size 11 for bouldering, a bit tight and 11.5 for comfy climbing. The heels aren't great for heavy heel hooks but a great elsewhere
Post edited at 19:39
 nufkin 11 Aug 2016
In reply to mike25350:

The Sportiva Katanas might be worth a look - a bit more shaped than the Tarantulas, but still relatively comfy (especially after they've given a bit). See if you can find 46-47 to have a try of
 Anth 12 Aug 2016
In reply to mike25350: