UKC

1st alpine route.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Paul Troon 23 Aug 2016
How old where you when you did your 1st alpine route. That is at least 4, 000 meters. My reason for asking is I am 58 years young and since i drove past some of the great mountains about 20 years ago I have longed to return. I do have winter  Scottish and Welsh mountain experience. Also i consider myself quite fit. i do have a good wife and some brilliant children who couldn't and wouldn't consider such a trip. Time and money allso a factor for a couple more years.

Paul
 GridNorth 23 Aug 2016
In reply to Paul Troon:

I did my first when I was 23 and my last when I was 65. Don't leave it too long, it doesn't get easier.

Al
 Mark Bannan 23 Aug 2016
In reply to Paul Troon:

28 and I wasn't particularly experienced in the UK - I had been climbing for less than 2 years with about 30 rock routes and 5 winter routes done, although my fitness was good (lots of munro-bashing during this 2 year period).

I would say that 4,000m peaks do need acclimatisation (at least one previous expedidion to over 3,000m, even if it's just going up to a hut for a beer and then back down!).

IIRC, Karl Blodig did his last 4,000m peak when he was in his 70s, so I am sure you will have no problem, given your experience.
 planetmarshall 23 Aug 2016
In reply to Paul Troon:

> How old where you when you did your 1st alpine route. That is at least 4, 000 meters.

Chèré Couloir (D 4) When I was 35.
 pdone 23 Aug 2016
In reply to Paul Troon:

There are plenty of people older than you doing 4000m peaks so just ignore your age and if you feel like going go!
Try to get 'hill-fit' before you go and adopt a sensible acclimatisation programme and there shouldn't be a problem.
Graeme G 23 Aug 2016
In reply to Paul Troon:

When you say route do you mean 'route' or just a summit?