UKC

ith root of -1

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ablackett 21 Sep 2016
I'm a maths teacher, and have been marking some Y10 papers.

Believe it or not, one of them has left me some mathematical doodling in the margin which at one point finds the ith root of -1.

e^i*Pi = -1
e^Pi = (-1)^(1/i)

He then incorrectly writes that
e^Pi = -i

and goes onto write
-e^pi = i
(-e^pi)^2 = -1
(e^pi)^2 = 535.49

So 535.49 = -1

His mistake is thinking that the ith root of -1 is i, Wolfram tells me that the ith root of -1 is -1.

I have a maths degree, so am reasonable comfortable with Argand diagrams roots of unity etc, but have never come across ith roots before.

Can anyone explain it to me in a way that I have a hope in hell of explaining it to an inquisitive y10.
 jonny taylor 21 Sep 2016
In reply to ablackett:

Sounds like a lad who will go far!

Certainly got me thinking. He is totally right, and he’s basically there with his second line.

If I define the nth root of a as satisfying the equation x^n = a, then in this case we are trying to solve x^i = -1.

I happen to remember (as he does) that e^{i pi} = -1, or to write it in a less familiar, but equally correct way, (e^pi}^i = -1. This implies that an ith root of -1 is actually e^pi.

I don’t know if there are other roots (in the same way that there are two square roots of a number, a positive and a negative). That might be one for a mathematican not a physicist!
 Robert Durran 21 Sep 2016
In reply to jonny taylor:
> I happen to remember (as he does) that e^{i pi} = -1, or to write it in a less familiar, but equally correct way, (e^pi}^i = -1. This implies that an ith root of -1 is actually e^pi.

> I don£t know if there are other roots (in the same way that there are two square roots of a number, a positive and a negative). That might be one for a mathematican not a physicist!