UKC

Chiropractic treatment?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Whats the view from the learned ukc masses of this form of treatment. My wife has had concerns about my daughter's wellbeing and was recommended a chiropractor by various people in her circle, some who are a bit, well, into this kind of thing. I had my reservations.

She has come back after the initial consultation and without a scan used he has made some incredible assertions about neurological, opthamalogical, spinal issues which I find hard to believe he could diagnose under those conditions.

It is true that I am closed minded to alternative treatments, preferring evidence based therapies, so I struggle with this stuff so I'm keen to hear what others think about it. I dont want to dismiss something that I have little knowledge about but I just dont buy it.
Post edited at 10:36
 AdrianC 15 Oct 2016
In reply to TheDrunkenBakers:

You might want to read the section on chiropractic treatment in Simon Singh's book Trick or Treatment. He goes through the evidence around a number of alternative rememdies.
KevinD 15 Oct 2016

I would be wary as hell. There is no evidence supporting the majority of claims made.
The more someone promises it can cure the more dubious I would be.
It can help for some spinal conditions but beyond that it isnt supported. It has the additional downside that unlike some alt medicine which cant cause harm (apart from through inaction) Chiropody can be dangerous due to pissing around with the spine.
Removed User 15 Oct 2016

I am currently seeing a chiropractor for shoulder and neck issues and have in the past had treatment for a back problem. I can't comment on your daughter's particular case as I don't know anything about it beyond what you have described above, and I'm not a chiropractor (or a physio, doctor or anything else that might have some insight).