UKC

How to improve at climbing tips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Wayne S 30 Oct 2016
Hi,

I thought it might be fun to get the collective wisdom of UKC for down to earth hard leart tips for improving your game.

What I would like to exclude is the typical stuff around "training". No wall sessions, finger boards, campus routines please. Also no super duper piece of gear is going to make me climb better either.

Clearly I don't have many ideas or I wouldn't be posing the question, but a few hard won lesions for me are:

Gravity does not tire, I do. Go on a diet and carry less gear.
Try to breath and not over grip.
Stuff too much training, climb more.
Heels and toes do more than I currently exploit.
Footwork is all important, though I'm still learning.
Yoga works for climbers.
Practice placing trad gear fast, with little faffing.
Try and recognise when its fear stopping me perform, and be honest about it.

I look forward to any and all pearls of wisdom.

Wayne
 zv 30 Oct 2016
In reply to Wayne S:

I wonder why have you got a dislike for training?

All of the above are excellent tips but can only get you so far up the grades.

I think one of the best advice I read on getting better at climbing was in Steve Mac's book and was something along the lines of:

Spend about half of your climbing time with routes which are within your comfort zone and can onsight or do quickly. Spend the other half on routes which are totally impossible at first. This is an excellent way of developing strength and expanding your comfort zone.
 Lemony 30 Oct 2016
In reply to Wayne S:

Turn your brain on before you start, visualisation works wonders.
Don't eat a massive lunch.
The right shoes on the right problem/route feel like cheating.
 faffergotgunz 30 Oct 2016
In reply to Wayne S:

All in the finger strength innit.

Tip: wot i did was hammer both hands, break all bonez n den dey grew back stronger. Now i haz super strong fingerz.