UKC

Hike,camp,climb HELP

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mikegbpf 07 Nov 2016
Hi Guys & Gals

I am new to climbing, i been going for about 3 years all of it sport climbing. First year was completely indoor climbing year 2 was 80/20 split between indoor and out door this year is 65/35 living in south wales whenever me and my climbing partner have time to go it seems to be raining.

i have kind of got an idea that i would like to load up the car drive somewhere and just go on a hike find a sport climb camp for a few days and just spend time climbing and being out doors.

But i have absolutely no idea where to begin with kit needed for the camping and hiking. every web site has a million different options between packing the kitchen sink or going ultra light. they all sell the latest and greatest. its a mine field.

i was just hoping to get some basic advice of what tent, sleeping bag and clothing is reliable and will do the job and not cost an arm and a leg.

Any advice would be amazing be great to get some pics of peoples kit as an idea of amount of things to take or any links that would help me out

thank you in advance Mike
 marsbar 07 Nov 2016
In reply to mikegbpf:

For reasonable quality for a reasonableprice I suggest looking at Vango tents. If you can get last years colours at a discount then even better. I would avoid really cheap tents. Get some sort of mat to insulate you from the ground or you will freeze. Basic gas stoves are cheap and easy to use.
 Tigger 07 Nov 2016
In reply to mikegbpf:

Duke of Edinburgh recommended kit might be a good starting point. As marsbar said Vang tents are pretty good for their money, the banshee 200 is pretty decent. As for a sleeping bag. Mat stove etc, where are you planning on going? What temperature range will you experience there? Alpkit are also good resource for reasonably priced kit, head torch, stoves utensils etc...
OP mikegbpf 07 Nov 2016
In reply to mikegbpf: