UKC

Where, when and what level to start outdoors at?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Roobag 15 Nov 2016
I'm am thinking about my first independent outdoor trip and want it to initially be confidence inspiring and basic skill affirming. Having just watched two 70 plus year old women climbing again on a BMC video climbing Middlefell Buttress in The Lake District I thought that this would be a good place to start.
The intention is to take my regular climbing buddy and two other friends who have even less experience but are keen to along as well. These latter 2 may be cut from the equation based on advice.

Some facts to consider:
I have been climbing indoors for a couple of years.
Have been climbing outdoors only 3 times. Once with an instructor, once a failed trip to the Peaks in March with my family (never again), and once at Bowles Rock which is a top rope only deal. The poor climb rate is all thanks to living in Essex and starting climbing later in life than many.
So the questions are these: Is this a good start point and can you add a few routes gradually moving up the grades to a level of increased difficulty not going beyond HVS? Do I need to go out a bit more with the clubs before or instructors before going out independently? I am sure I will get comments ranging from, "stop being a pussy and get out there" to "whoa there Lesley what are you doing?" but any constructive advice would be welcomed. Tfr.
 Bob Aitken 15 Nov 2016
In reply to Roobag: