UKC

Alpes d'huez winter alpinism

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ryan Parle 05 Dec 2016
I'm heading out to Alpes D'huez in late January for a ski trip & some of us were planning on taking our mountaineering gear so that we could spend a day or two exploring on foot.

We aren't really looking for ice climbs etc, more like moderate hikes / scrambles

Can anyone suggest any suitable routes or suggest where to look? I've done a bit of googling and most of what I have found is aimed at families & total novices.

I have ordered the IGN map of the area & also have it covered on my Garmin GPS so hopefully navigation won't be too much of a problem.

Thanks in advance
 smithaldo 06 Dec 2016
In reply to Ryan Parle: the problem will most likely be the snow. You would be wallowing in lots of it on anything shallow and from memory there isn't really anything around there that looks ridge like enough to not have snow and be a January objective.

There is a reason people go skiing at that time of year.

There are some ice climbs in the resort but not sure they regularly form anymore?

Simon4 06 Dec 2016
In reply to smithaldo:

> the problem will most likely be the snow. You would be wallowing in lots of it on anything shallow and from memory there isn't really anything around there that looks ridge like enough to not have snow and be a January objective.

> There is a reason people go skiing at that time of year.

True, but snowshoeing (raquetting) is a viable alternative, if the party does not have ski-touring (ski de rando) skills. Nothing like as good or flexible, but is at least viable. Raquettes (and with some more greater difficulty and a LOT more cost, ski-rando kit), can be hired locally.

> There are some ice climbs in the resort but not sure they regularly form anymore?