UKC

Font trip early April needs female adult/ coach/instructor?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 teapot 10 Dec 2016
I am running a 6 day school trip to Font between 31st March and Tuesday 2nd April. That means 4 bouldering days and 2 travel days.

I have 2 girls who are keen to come, but need a female adult in attendance as it's an overnight trip. The total trip size is 6 students (aged 11-16), who all have some experience of outdoor bouldering. There will also be myself and my colleague- who are both qualified climbing instructors.

Both sisters (aged sub 15) are highly talented climbers who both climb on the comp circuit indoors, but have relatively little outdoor bouldering experience (except Font last year).

So if anyone would like to PM me if they are interested. You would need to be CRB checked (which is simple).

I have been running this trip for the last 8 years and it is basically like a climbing holiday for me. The students are never any bother at all.

So this could suit someone who just loves Font, who fancies a FULLY expenses paid trip (with a little added responsibility- not for the climbing, just as a chaperone for the girls.)

If there are any female climbing coaches who were available on those dates, then there might even be the option of me finding some additional funds in the budget to provide a dayly payment, although it would not be more than £75 per day, so £450 for the trip. The trip is run on a shoestring budget to keep it affordable so full dayly coaching rates is not an option. I expect there would be options for more future trips and also instructor work in school in future. For example next summer I am introducing an alpine bouldering (Magic Wood and Aile Froid) trip for our elder climbers/more advanced climbers.

The girls are both targeting Team GB and the eldest is currently bouldering v7 indoor and winning a fair few competitions.