UKC

New Rope - dry or not?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 CumbrianCanary 23 Dec 2016
Hi, I am just getting into climbing again and building up my gear ready to get out in the summer. I am looking for a rope and interested in people's thoughts on dry ropes.

I understand the benefits of having a rope that doesn't absorb water, but I was wondering if people had treated normal ropes with something like the offering from Nikwax and if that had the same effect? I suspect it wouldn't last as long as a pre-treated rope, but from what I can see the cost savings could pay for a fair number of treatments.

I am hoping to pick something up in the sales but there is so much choice! It will certainly be a single rope, probably 60 m.

Thanks
In reply to CumbrianCanary:

Have a look at this Group Test for some good advice on single ropes - http://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/review.php?id=8722

With regard to dry treatment: there are many different types since each manufacturer tends to have their own treatment. These varying degrees of water resistance but the ones that achieve the UIAA standard are certainly very water resistant.

However dry treatment brings other benefits to the rope like abrasion resistance and more supple movement of the internal fibres leading to better handling. I can not be certain but I would very much doubt that the DIY dry treatment options offer the same protection, durability and suppleness benefits.

If you intend to use your rope in an alpine or winter environment then I would go for a rope with UIAA standard dry treatment. If you are just using it for sport climbing and trad climbing in reasonable weather then I would go for durability and handling (and price if required).

Alan
 tjin 23 Dec 2016

Depends on the usage. If you are only using it for sportclimbing in the summer; no need for a coating.
In reply to Alan James - Rockfax: