UKC

The Woolpacks recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 philluu 28 Dec 2016
I am heading up to the Peaks for a couple of days and going to walk a loop from Edale via No match for crag id:20979.

I have no knowledge of the area, and won't have a mat. Does anyone have any recommendations for low end problems?

Also, will the area layout description on the Rockfax site (http://www.rockfax.com/databases/results_crag.html?id=1257) be clear enough, as the pics I have seen show a lot of boulders?

Ta.
 Offwidth 29 Dec 2016
In reply to philluu:
Please avoid them. The conditions will be poor in winter and the rock likely holding damp (damp soft sandstone is especially delicate) and the ground underneath boggy, damp and sandy, or damp and delicate to erosion. They are already suffering visible damage despite being unpopular (they are a long way to carry a mat and pretty shite being on sctittly rock) and only being published for two years. Also as iconic and attractive rocks on a popular major path that many use if the weather is good enough to ever consider bouldering (some of whom are annoyed they ever got included as named problems in a guidebook) you may well end up in an unwanted altercation. A better option would be roadside sheltered bouldering before or after your walk.
Post edited at 14:17
In reply to Offwidth: I agree with all of that. Already, since being included in the RF Peak Bouldering guide, there are clear signs of wear and erosion on some named problems and that's after only a couple of years and relatively few visits. Things like Curly's Crack are OK as that's a traditional offwith (much like m'learned friend above) which is tough enough to sustain being climbed repeatedly.

If you want bouldering up there I can suggest Upper Edale Rocks & The Pagoda as being better, or perhaps some easy soloing on Edale Cross Rocks.