UKC

Help choosing general winter mountaineering rope

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ParaDan 31 Dec 2016

Hey,
Back for a second time on gear discussion.
I was wondering what length diameter and style of rope would be best for general winter mountaineering.
It wont be used for ice climbing or anything overly technical but I would like to practice playing with bucket seat body belays, buried axe, bollard etc etc. As well of course as just for hooking up to a partner whilst tackling anything too risky not to be tied in.

I have a 60m dry treated single 10.0mm and a pair of 60m dry treated 1/2 8.5mm.

As readers of previous posts will know, im new to winter climbing/mountaineering
Post edited at 18:00
 Dell 31 Dec 2016
In reply to ParaDan:

Probably one of the half ropes. Although 60m might be too long. If you're halves are well used, maybe buy a new identical one, and use one of your existing ones with the ends cut off, 10m each end should do it, then you can use these for tat and have a 40m length to play with.
OP ParaDan 31 Dec 2016
In reply to Dell:

So in a nutshell, a 40m 1/2 will do the trick alone?
 Dell 31 Dec 2016
In reply to ParaDan:

For practicing with and moving together on easier ground together, yes. Otherwise you'll end up carrying a 60 that might end up spending most of it's time in your pack.
 NathanP 31 Dec 2016
In reply to ParaDan:

Any of those three would be fine: use the 60m 10mm and look at the small extra weight as fitness training. I certainly wouldn't be taking a knife to a perfectly OK 60m 1/2 just to save carrying around an excess few meters of rope this winter, especially as you'll need two dry treated 60m 1/2 ropes when you do progress on to something more technical, not to mention next spring for general rock climbing.
 Tricadam 01 Jan 2017
In reply to ParaDan: