UKC

x-country skiing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Diddy 02 Jan 2017
I would appreciate advice on the subject. I have 30 yrs downhill ski experience and would like to do some x-country. I am in the East Midlands just wonder where to learn best, Scotland, Norway or the Alps. I know there is the odd roller ski outlet I have even thought of buying that kit to get going and then go abroad. I would mainly like to get into the winter hills should I think of snow shoeing instead .I do lots of hiking.
 Doug 02 Jan 2017
In reply to Diddy:

might sound strange, but what do you mean by XC skiing ? it seems to cover a wide range of types of skiing & advice for eg skiing in prepared tracks or on light skating skis won't be much use if you're wanting to ski across the wilds of Norway.
 OwenM 03 Jan 2017
In reply to Diddy:

Roller skis are ok for training on but not really that good to learn on as they're too easy to develop bad habits on. If conditions are good there are some good places in Scotland to learn.
http://www.slochd.co.uk/nordic.html
http://hnoc.nordicski.co.uk/
http://scotland.forestry.gov.uk/visit/clashindarroch
http://www.aviemoreski.co.uk/glenmore-shop/hires/x-country-ski-hire/

If the snows thin then Norway is probably your best option but it's not cheap.

For getting into the hills you'll probably need something a bit more substantial than track skis but they're ideal to start on. If you think of it as a sliding scale with track skis at one end and heavy Telemark/Alpine touring skis at the other, your ideal ski will be somewhere along that scale. Only by trying different skis can you find your own ideal.
 Doug 03 Jan 2017
In reply to OwenM:

If s/he lives in the East Midlands s/he would be better advised to go to either Scandinavia or to central Europe (Jura, prealps, Alps etc) - Scotland can be great for all types of skiing but the chances of poor conditions and/or bad weather are much higher than elsewhere.