UKC

Wooden ice tools?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Pay Attention 05 Jan 2017
Ice tools made of wood!
Light, strong, balanced, durable. Are they the future, or a new kind of retro?

Who's used them? How did they compare? Are they valuable? Do they inspire confidence?
It's woken my curiosity.
 olddirtydoggy 05 Jan 2017
In reply to Pay Attention:

Not sure really. I'm a builder and I had some older wooden handle, heavy hammers but the shafts have all broken as the wood has dried out and the supple structure of the timber has degraded. Not sure about these climbing tools.
 DaveHK 05 Jan 2017

Might be ok for ice but not much cop on mixed.
 top cat 05 Jan 2017
In reply to DaveHK:

> Might be ok for ice but not much cop on mixed.

Surely most every placement on ice is hammered and most on mixed are placed? But for sure tradition wooden shafted axe pick shapes weren't too good, for either! Also the taper of the shaft just above the spike was a design disaster!

However, reshape the shaft and use a modern but not too radical head and you could have a nice combination. Maybe.
 Misha 05 Jan 2017
In reply to top cat:

> Surely most every placement on ice is hammered and most on mixed are placed?

If only... placed, hammered, torqued, levered, yanked...

jonnie3430 05 Jan 2017

These guys have done them; http://www.dryicetools.com/kronos/

I assume they'd be fine on mixed and ice, but wear quicker on the former as the material isn't as robust as metal. That can be engineered out though it would take a while to do the trials and development.
 George Fisher 05 Jan 2017

Hi guys, I'm very happy to answer questions you have about the KRONOS. I will say that they have been tested extensively on both ice and mixed terrain. They also carry the T mark and have been through the same tests that other technical tools on the market have.