UKC

Arc Teryx gear

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
abgeneigt 10 Feb 2004
I am new to the world of climing and I was planning on getting the Arc Teryx Theta A/R jacket. Does Arc Teryx come out with new gear each year? That being the case, should I postpone a purchase until the new gear is introduced?

Thanks for any help,
-Dan
 HeMa 10 Feb 2004
In reply to abgeneigt:

Theta AR has been a benchmark waterproof/breatable-jacket for a couple of years now. And yes Arc'Teryx does new stuff, but usually doesn't change a working formula (Theta AR, Beta AR, Alpha etc.).

So if you get Theta at a good price just buy it.

Just a thought though, do you really need a w/b-jacket and would a softshell do.
abgeneigt 10 Feb 2004
In reply to HeMa:

Thanks for the help. I think I need a bit more waterproof jacket than a softshell. I just got back from heli-skiing in British Columbia and I was soaked,...and it was -50 farenhight (sp.). Do you think the Theta AR is a good purchase?
OP Valerie 10 Feb 2004
In reply to abgeneigt:
I've got a Beta AR jacket, which I find absolutely brilliant. For a Gore jacket it's really light, nice and simple with no fussy gimicks. Only problem is that it is quite short at the front. I know that this is so that it doesn't get in the way of your harness but it tends to ride up further when you do up the waist strap of your pack. If I recall the Theta is that little bit longer. It wasn't on sale when I was buying mine though!
 HeMa 10 Feb 2004
In reply to abgeneigt:

Theta AR is a good choice for w/b-jacket, I personally have had Beta AR for 4 years now I have been really content with it (a bit short as said before).

So if Theta fits you and the price is good, go for it.
 Dave 10 Feb 2004
In reply to abgeneigt: