UKC

attaching yourself to an anchor

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Joe Nunn 24 Apr 2004
I am just learning to lead and wondered about the advantages of different methods of tying on to an anchor, specifically:

1 attaching to a locking karabiner with a clove hitch
this is the obvious way to attach to an anchor but requires more locking karabiners.

2 tying a figure of eight on bight around the loop used to tie in with.

this does not require extra karabiners, but is it safe?
Dave Hunter, Rock + Run 24 Apr 2004
In reply to Harry Munk:

Why does clove hitching need more karabiners? Both methods need one per piece of gear surely? Or am I missing something?
Dave Hunter, Rock + Run 24 Apr 2004
In reply to Dave Hunter, Rock + Run:

Having thought for a moment, I assume you mean using the rope on more than one piece of gear, which would requier an extra crab at the tying in point. Better in that case to use a super long sling to equalise the anchors, then clip into a loop knotted into the bottom of said sling.
OP Joe Nunn 24 Apr 2004
apologies for the lack of clarity. describing knots is clearly an art form. what i mean is tying a second figure of eight around the loop that you used to tie in with. it does not require a karabiner as far as i am aware. it is on p84 of "the handbook of climbing" - i just want confirmation from anyone who uses it, that it is safe.
yellofello 24 Apr 2004
In reply to Harry Munk:

Used in some instances and perfectly safe
 SouthernSteve 24 Apr 2004
In reply to Harry Munk:
The advantage of the clove hitch at the anchor point (anchor in reach) and clove hitch at your harness via a Karabiner (anchor out of reach) is that it is easy to get the correct the length of the belay so that you can sit/stand comfortably with no slack in the system and with multiple anchors balanced correctly.