UKC

Best lightweight Alpine rucksac?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
DaveYarwood 05 Jun 2004
Any suggestions?
 gwilym 05 Jun 2004
In reply to Davod the Great: crux ak50, get it while you still can 'cos the 47 is not as good -it has a fixed lid. crux have had some production quality problems but their service is very good if you do have a complaint
 gwilym 05 Jun 2004
In reply to gwilym: before Bob replies; this only if you need something that large, you can get away with around 30lt if you pack right
Jules King 06 Jun 2004
In reply to Davod the Great:

I've been using a POD sac for a couple of years, the Super Tear Drop. Bomb proof construction, strips down to cut weight, front opening zip so you can stuff it tight or reach stuff at the bottom without digging from the top. This year I am getting the 35l standard Tear Drop as the 50l is bit too big (it's really best used for Ski touring - the ski pockets on hte sides are brillant.
OP Not Bob 06 Jun 2004
In reply to gwilym:
> (In reply to gwilym) before Bob replies; this only if you need something that large, you can get away with around 30lt if you pack right

A 5l bumbag would do the job, what do you need 47l for?

BONG 06 Jun 2004
In reply to Not Bob:

actually you don't need a bag, just strap all your stuff onto yourself, and if you do it right, you'll climb a lot better cause the centre of gravity's a lot closer to you than using a bag.
 Bob 06 Jun 2004

Ooh! me next!

It seems that the message is beginning to get across

Davod, have a look at http://www.aqvi55.dsl.pipex.com/climb/alp-gear.htm for the reasoning as to why you do not need a big sack for the alps.

Bob
Paul Saunders 06 Jun 2004
In reply to Bob:

Yawn...