UKC

Halfords poll - who did they get to write it?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

An extract from the Hereford Times reporting on the £50 bike repair voucher scheme. "A poll of 2,000 adults commissioned by the firm indicated that only 48% of people know how to repair a puncture, 43% could tighten lights and fix a loose chain, and 37% could adjust their own brakes."

43% could tighten lights and fix a loose chain? As well as being a Deputy Head I'm a trained cycle mechanic and MTB Guide and I can't imagine what they are thinking. Did the poll author think everyone rides fixies or is using 1970s Eveready lights?

DaveHK 28 Jul 2020
In reply to blackmountainbiker:

I'd be surprised if those figures were representative of the general public. I wonder who they asked?

ianstevens 28 Jul 2020

I suspect “fix a loose chain” actually means putting a chain which has been dropped back on the rings/cassette. As for tightening lights... the mounts for mine are done by thumbscrew so pretty intuitive  

Toby_W 28 Jul 2020

Is mtb guide a uk qualification or other?

cheers

Toby

In reply to Toby_W:

Well actually it's a Mountain Bike Leader qualification. Governed by British Cycling. 

girlymonkey 29 Jul 2020

If I had been asked that, I would have looked at the statement and said yes based on the principal that I could fix pretty much anything on the bike. So whatever they meant by "fix a loose chain", I could fix. So whether that is to remove links or fit a new one due to chain stretch etc. 

I suspect if you are asked a nonsense question but you feel generally you could fix most things on a bike, you might just say yes. If you are not confident fixing a bike, then the answer to the same nonsense question might be no.