UKC

Mtb- first steps

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Sleepy_trucker 18 Apr 2019

In an effort to remove the evidence of my love for beer (namely a front facing bulge, above the waist), I've bought myself a pretty serious looking mountain bike frame (scott genius) that I'm just starting to build.

It's something I've wanted to have a go at for a while and I tend to get the more advanced gear and "grow" into it rather than buying twice.

Obviously though, I've no experience at all other than what we got up to in our teens so what I have in mind to start with would be more like the woodland trails or even country parks that most of us have nearby, I can gradually build up my fitness that way and most likely slowly move over to more exciting routes.

Do you have any recommendations? And, am I doing the right thing or do you have a better idea?

ChrisJD 18 Apr 2019
In reply to Sleepy_trucker:

Profile says you are in Lincoln.

You could try the trails at Sherwood Pines, they are less than an hour (drive) from Lincoln. 

Have fun.

muppetfilter 18 Apr 2019

Planet x have some great budget hemets. If you fancy some more adventurous trails the vertebrate publishing dark peak book is good, look out on facebook for biking groups that have social rides.

a crap climber 18 Apr 2019

It's nor unusual for bike shops to run a weekly group ride, so might be worth looking up some local shops and seeing if they do such a thing. Depending on the shop and the area though they might not always be beginner friendly.

I often spend hours obsessively poring over OS maps and satellite images to scope out routes. Bing maps is particularly good for this as you can flip between the two. There is always a risk of ending up somewhere less than ideal, so perhaps not the best idea till you build up your confidence.