UKC

New road bike or wheels?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JamButty 09 May 2022

My road bike is getting on a bit.  Its a 8yr old Felt F75,  Aly frame and carbon forks 105 throughout. Wheels are the standard ones with open bearings.  I ride pretty regularly up to 100km and use it for triathlons.  I love the bike,  and generally look after it,  either myself or LBS.

I'm far from a biek expert,  but I've been thinking about a carbon framed bike for a while especially as my wheels are shot especially with the open race bearings.

I've been thinking around £1500ish,  but not sure if that gets me the step up I was looking for,  so am considering whether I upgrade my wheels to get more life from the current bike and then get a newer one in a few years.

I am asking a climbing forum,  as you guys are the wealth of knowledge for everything so I'm hoping you can help me.

Cheers all.

Kalna_kaza 09 May 2022
In reply to JamButty:

Planet X do some good value carbon bikes and normally have stuff in stock ready to shift rather than a long lead time. On the down side some of their bikes have appalling bad colour schemes, an acquired taste of I was being polite. 

Macleod 09 May 2022
In reply to JamButty:

A good set of wheels & tyres will usually be a much bigger upgrade on a smallish budget than a new frame (provided you like the frame you have).

Sam W 09 May 2022
In reply to JamButty:

I bought some nice Hunt carbon wheels for my 6 year old Scott last summer.  Generally very pleased with the decision, toyed with upgrading the whole bike but budget wouldn't stretch to anything better than what I already had.

I will briefly add that nicer wheels are great, but with rim brakes slowing down can feel expensive.  Biggest argument I can see for disc brakes on a road bike is that you only wear out the disc, not the whole rim.  For you, as for me, the only solution to that problem may be a new bike

GPN 09 May 2022
In reply to JamButty: