UKC

Road tyres for a gravel

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 supersteve 31 Aug 2021

Have entered my first 150k road race in a few weeks, which I will be doing on my gravel. Currently have 40mm tyres fitted, so looking for some 28mm road tyres. Does anyone have any advice / suggestions, as this is a new area to me?

Marek 31 Aug 2021
In reply to supersteve:

As with so many thing cycling-related, the answer at the moment seems to be 'whatever you can get'. I would normally recommend Conti GP5000, but I don't think you'll find any (in the UK). You might find 30mm or 32mm version and they won't be significantly slower. Of course if it's really a race (as opposed to a sportive) and you're at the pointy end then 'significantly' may differ.

TobyA 31 Aug 2021
In reply to supersteve:

I'm no expert, but I think the width of your rims on your gravel bike may limit how narrow you can go anyway - having said that I think it was my 32 mm Marathon Plus tires that I put on my gravel bike that came with 38 as stock, although it might have been my Marathon Plus Tours which are 35 mm. I definitely used the 32 mm ones on my old CX bike for several years, but I'm not sure if they were a narrower rim. 

A lot of modern real world and lab testing seems to show that narrower tyres don't make such a massive difference anyway, and they will be hard on your bum if you're used to nice big fat cushty gravel tires! I bet a road-focused slick tyre at 32 or 35 will be just as fast as 25 or 28 and more comfy on a long ride. 

Alkis 31 Aug 2021
In reply to supersteve:

All I can add is that my endurance road bike came with 32mm tubeless slicks (Giant Gavia Fondo 1) and they feel plenty fast.

beardy mike 31 Aug 2021
In reply to supersteve: