UKC

Bouldering guidebooks for areas around greater Manchester

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dl_wraith 23 Sep 2013
I'm sorry to have to ask this but I'm having some difficulty and could do with a nudge in the right direction.

I've taken to a spot of bouldering here and there and would like to pick up some useful guidebooks for the areas near me. Where I found it reasonably easy to get some relevant books for trad routes near me I'm struggling a little for bouldering guides.

By now the question will be obvious: can anyone recommend any good bouldering guidebooks for places around the greater Manchester area? As I'm new to bouldering (climbing at V2/easy V3 at the moment) guides with details of lower grade routes would be extra helpful.

Cheers ears.
 drolex 23 Sep 2013
In reply to dl_wraith:
For the peak mainly, if you are on the east side of GM
Peak Bouldering http://www.rockfax.com/climbing-guides/books/peak-bouldering/ not yet published...
Peak District Bouldering http://www.amazon.co.uk/Peak-District-Bouldering-Rupert-Davies/dp/190614827...
 Jon Stewart 23 Sep 2013
In reply to dl_wraith:

Don't ignore Yorkshire - Bridestones and Widdop (plus other bits round there) might not be far away. The newer bouldering guides didn't include Bridestones as the rock's soft and it's starting to fall apart, but it is still some of the best bouldering anywhere. Given that, the old Rockfax Yorkshire Bouldering guide (which does describe Bridestones) might be your best bet for those venues.
 Choss 23 Sep 2013
In reply to dl_wraith:

Dont know about guidebooks. But you could do worse than just turn up at Brownstones quarry and just pick what tickles yer fancy.

If you check youtube, someone with the handle GCW666 shows a lot of the problems.

Hope that helps.
 galpinos 23 Sep 2013
In reply to Choss:
> If you check youtube, someone with the handle GCW666 shows a lot of the problems.

http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/profile.php?id=17300