UKC

Bouldering mat / crash pad Advice needed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 BeeDaurn 14 May 2018

I'm just starting out bouldering and until I find a group or partner will mostly be doing it alone, I'm looking for bouldering mat recommendations as well as what the best size thickness ect to look for. I am a student so I am looking for something more affordable however I'm willing to pay extra for the perfect mat that is durable and will withstand good regular use. 

John Aisthorpe 14 May 2018
In reply to BeeDaurn:

I've used loads of different mats over the last few years and have a couple of favourites. 

The Moon warrior is definitely my first choice. I have used it a lot recently and if I was buying a mat now I would go for that one. It is pretty big and the foam is quite firm so it's good to use if your just gonna take one mat. From what I've heard the foam is durable too. It has great shoulder straps and a foot wiping mat that covers them when not carrying it. This foot mat wrapes around the bottom when carrying which is great when putting you rucksack or something inside so it won't fall out the bottom. It's taco design also lends itself to storing stuff inside the mat and also means there is no join where the two halfs meet. At around £160 it's probably average price if not towards the more expensive end but in my opinion it's definitely worth spending  more for a great mat like this with durable foam than buying a cheaper mat that isn't as good and might not last as long.