UKC

Do i need a spotter for outdoor bouldering?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
hi
I'm 17, been climbing for a year and a half but i dont really know anyone who's interested in outdoor bouldering, and legal red tape restricts me from joining any groups because I'm under 18. I will be looking at the climbing centre i go to (Leeds Wall) for people also interested in bouldering as i believe there are notices in there to help meet new
climbers.

Despite this is is recommended to go bouldering outdoors on your own? I have had limited outdoor experience before so is it recommended just to go somewhere fairly popular and bring a crash mat?

Hope you guys can help
Ben
 Jon Stewart 12 Mar 2017
In reply to Stuck On a Wall:

Yes, it's totally fine going bouldering by yourself (perhaps not quite as fun) - but choose your venue carefully.

Almscliff is a good choice as there are lots of low problems with good landings, and loads of people to meet at the crag. As you say, just bring a pad and you may well find folk to team up with anyhow. Shipley Glen would be a less good choice as it's rather more dangerous. But since the Glen is dead easy to get to by public transport it don't write it off as there are suitable bits in amongst the high, scary stuff. Caley has a good mixture unsuitable (high, scary) stuff and nice low stuff that's fine on your own. Caley is great in the spring and can be crap (sweaty, midgey, overgrown) the rest of the year.

The bouldering in Yorkshire is some of the best anywhere - get stuck in!
 teapot 12 Mar 2017