UKC

Fear of Falling after Injury and Self hate

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
MissyClimbs93 05 Dec 2018

so.. Ive been climbing for about 4 years and generally boulder v3-v5 and lead around 6c.

In march this year I was trying a boulder problem indoors (v6), it was on an overhang and I had a heel hook as I went out for the next hold.. heel came off, I swung out and landed on one foot and my ankle gave out, I then fell to my other side with my arm extended and my elbow went with a nice 'POP' no-one thought id inured myself as the fall was pretty standard .. until I stood up and my ankle was so swollen it was hanging over my climbing shoe and my arm at this point had frozen and was aching so bad. I went to the hospital and had X-rays, torn ligament in my ankle and hyperextended my elbow - they thought id torn the ligament too but about 8 weeks after the fall I visited the phisyo and it was actually my nerve that had been crushed slightly (couldn't tense my bicep at all for about 6 weeks) 

Eventually I stated doing some easy climbing after 8 weeks - id lost pretty much all of my upper body strength and muscle - it was the worst feeling the world.

Now I'm probably the strongest I've ever been, but the fear of falling off a boulder again is so strong that I cant breathe and honestly want to cry on boulders that should be easy for me. I regularly get to the last move and bail out of fear, often my technique goes out the window and the next thing I know i'm over gripping, arms bent and barley using my feet.

The fact this happens on even easy problems is so frustrating and embarrassing, I just want to be able to climb within my ability, I feel like I cant try hard anymore apart from on lead/toprope. I just get really angry and have developed a hatred for myself, there's just no confidence there and it affects me in all walks of life.