UKC

Learning to climb during lockdown

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
ImNewBeKind 02 Nov 2020

Hello, I have become extremely interested in bouldering this year, but despite somewhat good fitness, I am very new to the activity and keen to learn. I have been going to a climbing centre where possible but due to lockdown no. 2 that is no longer possible. Could some pros or climbers in training recommend how to improve my ability without access to a bouldering centre. Ie are there finger strength/upper body/leg/core/technique activities I could do from my home to better train me for climbing when I may return to a centre? Thanks! Jess x

afx22 02 Nov 2020
In reply to ImNewBeKind:

In the first year, the most important thing is to learn technique.  Climbing as much as you can (without getting injured), is the best thing.  Learning footwork, body positioning, reading movement and so on is the foundation of climbing at all levels.  This is all fun stuff.

Training strength and endurance can become a bigger factor later but you’re more likely to injure yourself if you start early.

Unfortunately, training technique isn’t an option for most of us through lockdown.  

PaulJepson 02 Nov 2020
In reply to ImNewBeKind:

It's hard to say without knowing your age and base level of fitness/strength but I would suggest, if you are brand spanking new to climbing, that you shouldn't look at things like finger strength. If you can get out and climb at all, do that. If you can't I would focus on getting a strong base level of fitness/strength/balance up so that come the spring when the weather is good (or whenever the walls re-open), you have a good foundation to start learning. 

Focus on improving your nutrition and fitness, as well as improving your strength:weight ratio (this is quite a big deal for climbers and some can take it too far but if you could stand to loose a couple of kgs, that will only help).