UKC

Book recommendations - life after GEB

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Greetings, assembled literary masses!

It's taken me since Christmas, but I've finally finished Godel, Escher, Bach. Absolutely loved this book, especially the exploration of the ideas behind Godel's proof and the other results of meta-mathematics. Despite a background as a mathematician, I'd not understood Godel's theorem before.

I thought the hidden tricks and messages in the Dialogues were fantastic (although I definitely missed at least a couple in first reading). The final focus on AI and human cognition was interesting, but not as compelling for me.

I'm looking for recommendations on a similar theme. I also love physics so would appreciate some ideas in that direction too. I spent 18 months working through Feynman's big red books, so I have some physics background already, but I'd like to know more about thermodynamics, nuclear physics, qed, qcd. Prefer stuff presented with a mathematical flavour.

Any suggestions, Ukcers?

https://xkcd.com/917/

jockster 31 Jul 2017
In reply to crossdressingrodney:

The Making of the Atomic Bomb
Richard Rhodes
 Blue Straggler 31 Jul 2017

Not quite the same theme, just physics....

Measured Tones - The Interplay of Physics and Music, by Ian Johnstone. I managed about 30 pages of it and then started to get lost (or lazy). I think you'll follow it far better than I did. Seemed really good, but I just couldn't devote my time and brain to it
In reply to jockster:

Looks interesting, thanks. I enjoyed Feynman's account of working at Los Alamos in I've of his biographies, but he only focused on the lighter stuff and never really addresses any of the more serious issues to do with building the bomb.
In reply to Blue Straggler:

Thank you. I have a student at school who's asking for references on the maths/physics of music, so I will pass this on to them and see what they make of it.
 Blue Straggler 31 Jul 2017