UKC

Freeware DAW recommendation for old MacBook Pro

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Blue Straggler 13 Jul 2021

Hello. I am possibly interested, finally, in mucking about in Garageband, now that I can sort of play the piano a bit. 

However my 2011 MacBook Pro does not have Garageband installed and I can't install it as it now insists on an OSX later than 10.11 which I believe I can't install (I am running Sierra, 10.12.6, and a quick Google suggest that that is my limit otherwise a bunch of other apps won't work). Any other recommendations? I am totally new to playing around with such things.

At a pinch, a Windows version could be used but I'd be abusing my work laptop! 

Removed User 13 Jul 2021
In reply to Blue Straggler:

Reaper innit?

Mike-W-99 14 Jul 2021

If your technically minded you may be able to run a newer version of OS X. My 2012 MacBook Pro is running Big Sur even though it officially doesn’t support it.

In reply to Removed User:

> Reaper innit?

This ^^^

In reply to Mike-W-99:

I am not very computer-tech minded, and mildly paranoid! 

Thanks, I will look into this

Removed User 14 Jul 2021

I've been playing around with it over the last 12 months after an initial foray into the free version of Protools (which had all sorts of issues with an ASIO driver). It has everything I like about software - lightweight, configurable and there is tons of support through Youtube for all aspects of it use (both from the creator and community).

I am less qualified to comment on its absolute capabilities vs other DAW software as my use has been very much using VST plugins to optimise audio for lecture recording and some simple multi track recording.

Post edited at 09:23

Thanks, I don't need much, just some basic tinkering at most.

Iamgregp 14 Jul 2021

Like how basic?  If we just talking you recording yourself, making some basic edits and effect changes then Audacity is fine.