UKC

Neil Peart RIP

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 FactorXXX 10 Jan 2020

Sad news that Neil Peart of Rush died of brain cancer this week.
Think a bit of 2112 might be listened to tonight...

IM 10 Jan 2020
In reply to FactorXXX:

Sad news. Brilliant drummer. 2112 for me also I think. 

Removed User 10 Jan 2020
In reply to FactorXXX:

Saw then at Hammersmith Odeon sometime in the 80's. I've got two of their albums somewhere in the stack downstairs. Another sad day for the music era I grew up in.

Mark Savage 11 Jan 2020
In reply to FactorXXX:

Very sad news.

I started playing drums when I was eleven years old and like most musicians into rock music, I quickly discovered that Rush were the technical standard by whom all musicians were measured. I spent months, if not years, of my life learning to play the Rush back catalogue, and in the same way that climbing with people who are better than you pushes you to improve, Neil Peart was the driving influence behind my passion for drumming. For me, he redefined what drums were capable of adding to a song instead of just keeping the beat.

I was consumed by drumming. I practised three hours every weekday after school and eight hours a day at weekends. I can still remember the joyous sense of teenage satisfaction when I learned to play songs like YYZ, Xanadu and La Villa Strangiato. I even learned to play the Exit Stage Left drum solo (complete with cow bells), which I played at the school concert for all the mums and dads. Those were the days ha ha!

Right now, I'm raising a few glasses to his memory and thinking about all the blood blisters that burst on my snare in my quest to be 1% as good as him.

Fruit 11 Jan 2020
In reply to FactorXXX:

‘I don’t want to be famous, I want to be good’ he certainly exceeded that aspiration.

Thank you Neil for so much pleasure.

keith hal 11 Jan 2020
In reply to FactorXXX: