UKC

The Boys of Everest:

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Doug 17 Nov 2006
Or the full title "The Boys of Everest: The Tragic Story of Climbing's Greatest Generation " recently published & written by Clint Willis and covering Chris Bonnington & friends

I saw this while back in the UK last week but only flicked through a few pages, has anyone read it ? is it worth buying ? I've never heard of the author but assume he's a journalist or similar rather than a mountaineer turned writer
clint willis 29 Nov 2006
In reply to Doug:
Hi Doug,

I wrote the book. I'm a professional writer, also a weekend climber.

The book was a finalist for the Mountain Literature Award at Banff, where it lost to Jim Perrin's essays. Check out the website theboysofeverest.com for more reviews and so on.

Hope you like it.
Removed User 29 Nov 2006
In reply to Doug:

Bet you weren't expecting that, eh Doug?
 Moacs 29 Nov 2006
In reply to Removed User:
> (In reply to Removed UserDoug)
>
> Bet you weren't expecting that, eh Doug?

Doesn't answer Doug's first couple of questions though.

Doug - haven't seen it, sorry. An interesting period to cover though.

Clint - did you have access to the individuals involved, or did you just read *their* books to write this one?

John

Magenta 29 Nov 2006
In reply to Moacs:

Most of "Bonington's Boys" are dead. I believe the book covers thirteen of them: Boardman, Boysen, Burke, Clough, Estcourt, Harlin, Haston, MacInnes, Renshaw, Rouse, Scott, Tasker, and Whillans
 Moacs 29 Nov 2006
In reply to Magenta:

You're right.

The question still stnads though, as a book written by someone who was in that crowd or who had interviewed Bonners, Curran (and any other survivors) would stand a better chance than a derivative work.

It provokes a bit of a pause when you list out the dead ones like that though...

J
Carpe Diem 29 Nov 2006
In reply to Doug:

I have to say that looking at the website and im sold already.