UKC

Tom Crean

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TimFoley50 01 Oct 2021

Hi everyone and I figure that many hill walkers and climbers are already aware of Tom Crean. If not, then his is a jaw-dropping and inspirational story. This is my first post here and I, like many others, don't welcome the use of forums to self-promote particularly if that happens in a maiden post.

As the author of two books about Crean, his biography and a children's book, which I won't make mention of here, I have been a long-time student of Crean who was born a few miles from my father in beautiful County Kerry. I want to provide an update that is significant whether you're aware of Crean or not. 

After researching Crean's life for over 3½ years, I submitted all of my research to the Royal Irish Academy and in light of what I discovered, the article entry for Tom Crean was substantially revised in the Dictionary of Irish Biography in March 2021. The changes include replacing inaccuracies that had populated his story for many years and a host of fresh information that has previously been missing from his timeline. 

Having read a number of archived posts here that repeat the falsehoods about Crean I felt compelled to at least raise awareness that the Crean's story has changed up and his travels and his reputation are greater than was previously known.

It would be great to hear from members here who may already be aware of Crean and if anyone wishes to discover more about his amazing story I'd be happy to chat about my favourite subject. 

In reply to TimFoley50:

I'd never heard of him, so I looked him up.  He's certainly an interesting character.  Why not tell us more?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Crean_(explorer)

Post edited at 02:30
 Maggot 02 Oct 2021
In reply to TimFoley50:

OK, but what has he done on Grit?

Kean 02 Oct 2021
In reply to TimFoley50:

What an incredible character. True grit. 

Slackboot 02 Oct 2021
In reply to TimFoley50: