UKC

Croatia car hire - which company?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Bob Kemp 18 Jun 2019

As above - flying into Zadar, looking for a small/medium family car. There are a lot of companies listed for the airport and I've no knowledge of most of them, so is a broker the best idea?

In reply to Bob Kemp:

I usually use Avis or Eurocar. A problem with Europcar is that they are linked to EasyJet so that a large proportion of renters who come off EasyJet flights use them - which means long and rather slow queues at the rental car kiosks. The cars are generally very good, but be aware that the companies usually place a big deposit on your credit/debit card and that there is also an extra charge for taking rental cars onto the ferries.

Martin Bennett 18 Jun 2019
In reply to Bob Kemp:

We went to Croatia last September flying not to Zadar but to Split. I rented our car, as I always do, through the on-line broker Auto-Europe (not to be confused with Europcar which is a car rental company and, incidentally, by no means my favourite). On this occasion Auto-Europe used local supplier Nova to provide the car and we had no problems at all, unless you count getting a Passat rather than the stated Octavia.

I hire cars perhaps 6 or 7 times a year. I never go direct to the end supplier but almost always use Auto-Europe as over the years they have proved themselves the most responsive and helpful when it becomes necessary to challenge an unexpected charge to one's credit card. They're in USA but freephone and usually very good on the phone whether booking, checking or challenging.

Graeme G 18 Jun 2019
In reply to Martin Bennett:

Mmm......wish I'd heard this a few weeks ago. Booked through rentalcars in Split for July. Using Oryx, never heard of them but online reviews seem ok.

Does using Auto-Europe carry a premium?

Martin Bennett 18 Jun 2019
In reply to Graeme G: