/ GR20 questions

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
Ardo 10 Aug 2019

Looking at doing the GR20 in September, so a couple of questions to anybody that's done it: north to south or t'other way round and bivvy bag plus tarp suffice or small tent better?

Pedro50 10 Aug 2019
In reply to Ardo:

North to South is conventional and much more popular but possibly for no good reason except that the northern section is more rugged and strenuous. We did it that way.

I just used a free standing tent flysheet as little rain was expected although we did it in June not September. 

If your tarp requires trees to erect it, it would limit pitching opportunities, but I am not an expert in their use.

Enjoy.

Calvi 10 Aug 2019
In reply to Ardo:

> Looking at doing the GR20 in September, so a couple of questions to anybody that's done it: north to south or t'other way round and bivvy bag plus tarp suffice or small tent better?

We did it North to South, just used a bivvy bag.

Dave in Kendal 10 Aug 2019
In reply to Ardo:

We did it south to north reckoning on getting fit on the “easier” southern section so we would find the tougher northern section not so hard. This seemed to work for us. We took a small tent and slept outside the huts (about €6 each from memory) as you then don’t need to book places in advance which you have to do if you want to stay in the (bed bug infested) hut dormitories or hire ready erected tents. We ate evening meals in the huts. It was about €20 for an evening meal which seemed to be largely salami for starter, meat in tomato sauce with pasta for the main course and cheese for desert. You could buy expensive beer and slightly less expensive wine. Breakfasts were poor value at €8 so we tended to have biscuits and water for breakfast. It’s a great walk but I believe that the Cirque de Solitude is closed off now and that there is a diversion in place.

Ardo 10 Aug 2019
In reply to Dave in Kendal:

Ta to all for replies.