UKC

Moving up north

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 socrates2611 04 Feb 2019

Hi All,

My partner and I are thinking about moving from London up north to be closer to the great outdoors and so I thought I'd ask the people of UKC their advice! 

What we are looking for: a place close to outdoor climbing/hiking, where weekend excursions are easy, and even possibly after work evening trips. Somewhere not too far from the bigger mountain areas. Nowhere too small - so we still have options to do things other than climbing/hiking and where work opportunities will be available. 

Work-wise - I am an indoor climbing instructor and administrator, and aspiring to get some outdoor qualifications (RCI - aka SPA & ML). And my partner does research and evaluation of health services.

We have a couple of places in mind already but would be interested to know what else might be thrown up  

Thank you in advance for any help anyone sends! 

The New NickB 04 Feb 2019
In reply to socrates2611:

Sounds like your wife’s job might put more constraints on location than yours, are you thinking of somewhere with easy access to either Leeds or Manchester?

Anoetic 04 Feb 2019

Hi

Other than choosing areas that may be over populated with indoor instructors have a think about Cardiff.  Close to Brecon Beacons and coast for walks, Pembroke & Gower and a myriad of other crags for climbing.  Also a run to north Wales doesn't take too long.

Work/life balance is good, the indoor climbing sector is expanding in the area, and there is movement in the Health service atm.

good luck in the search..

Post edited at 12:59
 Lornajkelly 04 Feb 2019