UKC

Portland advice for family group

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 PhilWS 15 Jul 2017
Wondered if I could get some advice for which areas to head towards for a family group on Portland having not been before myself.

Kids climb already but looking for some 4's to send them up. Looking for 5s and easy 6's for myself and the wife. From looking at the guide, there don't seem to be many that can't be walked into, but obviously abbing in is not going to happen with the children.

We will also have one complete newbie wanting to try out climbing....

Many thanks in advance
 tim.rose2 15 Jul 2017
In reply to PhilWS:

Have a look at the Veranda, Lost Valley / Dungecroft or the Cuttings / Bower. There's plenty at all three of those to meet your needs and access / paths are easy. If going to the Cuttings avoid the obvious easy routes on the left hand end of the main wall - they're awful and severely polished. Alternative easy routes can be found on the bower and there's also 3 or 4 easier routes in the new cuttings.
 kedvenc72 15 Jul 2017
In reply to PhilWS: I second tims advice. Especially the cuttings and bower. Can also finish days off bouldering in the evenings in bouldeefield or just down the road at the neddyfields.

Kevster 15 Jul 2017
In reply to PhilWS:

Depends on your level of comfort on approaches.
many areas with older kids will be fine. The boulder beach below Nedd fields has a number of routes in the 5 and 6s too, with as easy access a you can hope for beyond the cuttings, which is almost level access.
 Climber_Bill 16 Jul 2017
In reply to PhilWS:

Also agree with Tims advice. There is also Hedbury over at Swanage if you fancy a change from Portland. Nice walk in to the crag and some easy routes at the seaward end sector. Not as much choice as Portland, but still a nice venue with an old cannon for the kids to climb on!

TJB.
OP PhilWS 16 Jul 2017
In reply to tim.rose2: