UKC

Rockall Expedition, June 2008

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
MM0NDX 20 Aug 2007
Hi. Unsure whether this is the correct place to post..

Ok. I profess to knowing nothing about rock climbing. I'll get straight to the point, in the hope someone can help.

I'm a radio amateur operator, and together with three other radio friends, we hope to go to the Isle of Rockall, well off the coast of Scotland in June 2008. This is a much sought after island in the world of ham radio due it's remoteness and obvious dangers..

Now, as mentioned earlier, none of us have climbing experience,which is obviously going to provide a stumbling block should we arrive at Rockall in one piece!

I guess what i'm really asking is anyone remotely interested in joining us next June with the ability to get on the isle and subsequently rig up a means of getting evrryone else up the rock?

The trip itself is in it's very early planning stages - a website is still to be completed - transport costs to get there are still to be finalised, and indeed, we will be seeking sponsorship from within the radio ham community to help us on our way.

I really reiterate that planning is still in it's infancy, but as ever, it should fall into place by next June!

So, anyone interested in the possibility of an adventure of a lifetime?

Thanks

Al Evans 20 Aug 2007
In reply to MM0NDX: Apart from one face its just a scamble not a climb as such. I nearly landed on it in 1989 but the sea was too rough.
MM0NDX 20 Aug 2007
In reply to Al Evans:

Thanks for reply.

So it doesn't look as bad as it looks?

Are you able to share anymore info on your trip?
Was it your own boat you took or a charter etc?

Keith Jones 20 Aug 2007
In reply to MM0NDX:
You should be aware that even on calm days there is a significant surge of 2 to 3 metres at the base and if there is any sea running take a jet-pack.
MM0NDX 20 Aug 2007
In reply to Keith Jones:

Hi..